FREE SHIPPING FOR ORDERS OVER $49! WE ARE OFFERING 20% Off for Summer Savings site-wide! ENTER PROMO CODE 'SUMMERSAVINGS20' AT CHECKOUT! SHOP NOW!

Clauss 8" Straight Trimmer, Adjustable

Item No.
15300
In stock
$19.99
Clauss 8" Straight Trimmer, Adjustable is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 737.
  • y_2024, m_7, d_17, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.42
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_17, tr_720
  • loc_en_US, sid_15300, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_clauss-co
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 73.15ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

The Clauss 8” Straight Trimmers are specialized for all sorts of heavy-duty cutting tasks. Featuring all the parts you need to deliver the most powerful cuts without compromising accuracy, such as Stainless Steel blades with adjustable tension, large, glass filled nylon handles, and an oversized fulcrum, there is little the 8" Straight Trimmers can't cut through. The lower bow is also enlarged to accommodate gloved hands for when you may need to perform cutting tasks in more hazardous environments, and it is complimented by an ergonomic upper bow for balance and comfort. Also available in 9" (see item #15400), the 8" Straight Trimmers are an invaluable heavyweight asset to any workshop, craft drawer, or toolbox.

  • Large handles
  • Adjustable tension
  • Straight
  • Stainless Steel blades
  • Black handles
  • Also available in 9" #15400
More Information
BrandClauss
UPC015829153004
Weight0.290000
SizeSmall
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Serves it's purpose Bought this as part of a package deal with the titanium shears. The blades lock into place and have a release to put them back, however, when engaged there's quite a bit of play between the blade and frame. The locking mechanism/s feel cheap. The handle/body feels robust enough, almost like a composite material. 4 stars because of below-average build quality but also 4 stars due to it being a cheap WORKABLE knife you don't feel bad for using on just about anything that came super sharp from the factory.
Date published: 2022-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sharp! I received this Claus 8" Professional Shop Snip, model #18039 last month and it is awesome. Not only is this pair of snips very sharp, but it is very well made and heavy duty. It is easy to control and cuts a nice straight line. The only thing I didn't like was the lock in the handle. I found it difficult to use, however my husband had no trouble at all with it. I think my hands are just too small. This product has a lifetime warranty. I did receive this item free in return for my honest assessment.
Date published: 2016-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simply the best I have had a set of the predecessor to these for four years! I cut fiber, copper, plastic, mule tape... anything with ease! My co workers call then my "super snips" and I started giving them out as gifts to my apprentices. Best snips ever.
Date published: 2019-06-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good shears To be honest these are shorter than I thought they would be. Having said that I believe that these sissors are great. The blades are sharp and cut through multiple layers of fabric like butter. Handles are comfortable enough to use all day.
Date published: 2011-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice wire cutters I am glad I added these wire cutters to the tool box they came in handy last week when I installed some ceiling fans, spring added is a very nice feature so you are no fooling with trying to open them when it comes to multiple cuts.
Date published: 2017-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Top quality! Feels and works like it is made for proffesionals, that's how great it is! I have large hands and it is not an issue, great size. They are super sharp and the points are perfect for getting into tight spots! Love it!
Date published: 2017-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect size for a Quilter I use my thread snips all of the time. I am a quilter. I take a lot of to-go projects and now I can pack the thread snips along with my current project when I travel. I appreciate the addition of the point protector.
Date published: 2017-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These are tight. I just started using these and they are way better quality than others I’ve seen. I saw others that don’t even come close to these. I tried a different one and they were sloppy lose and these really are tight.
Date published: 2021-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from If you want quality, this is it! I use these shears at my factory for trimming and prepping burlap and vinyl covered bulletin board edges. They slice through like a knife and can cut as precisely as I will ever need. Made for professional use!
Date published: 2013-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This knife makes me feel like a kitchen ninja This knife immediately became the best kitchen knife I own. Normally, I have to run new knives over a fine hone sharpening stone for a while to get the kind of edge I expect on a kitchen knife, especially a slicey dicey curved knife. Not this bad boy. It can slice paper thin tomato slices, cut meat like its warm butter, and probably a bunch of other things that you shouldn't be doing with this type of blade anyway, like the paper test (which it passed easily. Before I tried the tomato.) I honestly kind of want to throw out 95% of my other kitchen knives and get some more of this Clauss series. If this knife disappoints you, then you have unrealistic standards in knives. That's the bottom line. I could easily pay 10 times as much for a knife that isn't even half this good. In fact, I have. :(
Date published: 2016-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well Made! The tool arrived in "no-nonsense" packaging (a plastic bag inside of a cardboard shipping box). It was immediately eye-catching and felt appropriately "weighty" in the hand. The features of this "Painters Tool" immediately seemed to me to be "over the top". At the non-business end of the tool is a receiver for screwdriver or hex bits - and inside the handle is a slide-out holder for two bits. However, because the non-ergonomic shape of the tool it would be somewhat cumbersome to use as a screwdriver. I do not find the metric hex openings and the bottle opener to be "practical". Having addressed the less-visited features of the tool, I move on to the most prominent purpose of the tool. The scraping blade, the nail puller, the groove-cleaning point of the blade and the paint roller scraper. All of these are features that I do personally find useful. Having received the tool only days ago, I can not confirm its long-term durability. However, the quality of this tool does seem FAR ABOVE any other tool in its class. I expect to provide an update to this review after some practical application.
Date published: 2016-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Cutter This is the perfect alternative to scissors. It provides a straight line without any fatigue of the hand and fingers. It's amazingly sharp so it cuts through heavy fabrics and materials with ease and precision. It's become the go-to tool in the house. I appreciate the safety feature on this tool as well. There is a plastic barrier that protects from accidental injuries when not in use. I would recommend this product! I received this product in exchange for my honest opinion.
Date published: 2017-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great scissor! This is a great scissor for doing crafts with your kids. Easily cuts through construction paper, hard styrofoam, cloth materials and anything else you would need to cut.
Date published: 2017-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sturdy and sharp! This is a great, sturdy pair of scissors that are very sharp out of the package. The notch is a nice feature for cutting larger gauge wires neatly.
Date published: 2021-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice feel These shears are absolutely sharp, have a nice feel to finger holes, no rubbing when cutting. Cuts several layers with ease
Date published: 2017-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A must have in your tool box This compact shears features heavy-duty thick, but sharp blades. The rubberized grip is feels solid and ic comfortable for extended cutting jobs. The combination thumb plus two/three finger grip makes easy work of cutting through a variety of materials and thicknesses. The little stripper notch in the lower blade is a nice touch. The Titanium bonded super hard blades should last a lifetime, but if not, there is always the great lifetime Clauss warranty for peace of mind.
Date published: 2021-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very sharp and easy to use. Have been using for the last month. It is a sharp blade for easy cutting. Feels sturdy in hand and slices through .
Date published: 2017-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best scissors by far I was given a pair of these in 2005. They are the best I've ever used. Still sharp and very comfortable to use.
Date published: 2020-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Good Shears . . My mom bought them in the 1950s . . Still as sharp as ever ! . . Use them about three times a week .
Date published: 2019-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sturdiest shears ever These are the best scissors I've ever owned. They are SUPER heavy duty AND they cut all the way to the tip. I've use them for crafts projects and they cut heavy floral wire like a breeze. (normally I'd have to cut the wire pieces one at a time, but I can cut many wires with one pass!) I like the way that they fit and feel in my hand, and my hand doesn't get tired after using them for a long period. These are the kind of shears that one would keep for a lifetime.
Date published: 2016-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from durability and quality I use 3.25 curved scissors for my embroidery shop. The best quality and durability.
Date published: 2019-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from outstanding shears these shears handle fits large hands nicely, has a very smooth action, very sharp,
Date published: 2017-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! Excellent scissors, great packaging and fast service! Thanks so much!
Date published: 2019-06-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great chef knife with great features! The Clauss 8" Titanium Bonded Chef's Knife is a must have for any kitchen. As a home chef, I truly appreciate the strong, sharp, titanium blade and comfortable handle. The blade is corrosion resistant and does not discolor. The Santoku style is easy to use and the handle makes this an ideal knife for chopping, dicing, slicing, and cutting through even the toughest meats. This is a very professional quality knife without the high price that so many knives have.
Date published: 2018-07-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Good I hope they last as long as the original pair I owned,( 40 years).
Date published: 2012-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super for carving turkey This knife is very thin and medium flexible. The thinness and sharpness along with the offset of the serrated blade make it a great knife for carving meat such as turkey. The blade offset keeps your fingers out of the mess, while the plastic/rubber overmold handle provides a solid grip. This knife is also perfect for cutting bread without smashing it at all. Works great for toasted cheese sandwiches too. A very useful knife that has a place in any kitchen.
Date published: 2017-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Powerful, Compact and Sharp Don't let the size fool you. This is a mighty little shears with big cutting capability. The unique full-hand grip is nonslip and imparts great cutting power for thick materials. The compact blades are super sharp and the Titanium bonding makes them glide through a wide variety of materials. The nylon lock nut on the blade pivot provides easy and secure tension adjustment and keeps the blades secure and aligned. As always, you can't beat the lifetime warranty.
Date published: 2021-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I Love it! Works better than any knife I have ever used....
Date published: 2014-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good choice good tool for a lot of jobs...
Date published: 2011-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Needed in everyones toolbox Great pair of needle nose pliers. If you are like me you already have several pairs of different size. But what I like most about this pair besides its good solid construction is of all things the overall narrowness, the handles on some pliers seem to be flared out wider, these fit better when carried in a belt holster. The no slip grip is one of the best I've come across. Easily worth the price over a cheaply constructed tool any day as with any tool.
Date published: 2017-04-09
  • y_2024, m_7, d_17, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.42
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_17, tr_720
  • loc_en_US, sid_15300, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_clauss-co
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 23.42ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Recently purchased a pair of Clauss Wire Cutters (item # 33503). What is the red handle made off? I would like to know if the cutters are autoclavable?

Asked by: Edgar
The handles are made from polypropylene and these cutters are not autoclavable
Answered by: Ashanti
Date published: 2022-02-13

Are the scissors RoHS Compliant?

Asked by: Pete
These scissors are not RoHS compliant
Answered by: Ashanti
Date published: 2020-08-21

I need 3 springs for the yellow handle wire cutter Item No.20013. I am a florist and only use Clauss wire cutters but I’ve lost 3 springs out of the 4 pair I have. I will gladly purchase them. Can you help me?

Asked by: Jennifer B
Unfortunately a replacement part is not available for this Clauss product. Our apologies for any inconvenience.
Answered by: Ashanti
Date published: 2020-07-28

What is the use for the 'lip' on the lower arm of these shears? What functional purpose do they serve?

Asked by: vdod787
The lip at the end of the shears is used as a guide to direct where to cut when you are cutting.
Answered by: Ashanti
Date published: 2020-07-22

Do these come with a curved blade?

Asked by: Knifeguy
These come with straight blades
Answered by: Ashanti
Date published: 2020-06-29

Do these come with a sheath? Where are they manufactured? What is the lead time?

Asked by: Andrew C
This shear does not come with a sheath, it is manufactured in China, and it has a lead time of 5-7 business days.
Answered by: Ashanti
Date published: 2020-06-15

How do I maintain or sharpen the titanium straight snips I own?

Asked by: Mome
We recommend using using a sharpener at a 20° angle to sharpen these.
Answered by: Ashanti
Date published: 2022-11-21

what is the sharpening angle for ExtremEdge Carbo Ti scissors?

Asked by: Nelsnon
We recommend using the 20° sharpening angle to sharpen these shears.
Answered by: Ashanti
Date published: 2020-05-29

What is the replacement blade # for the Quick cutter at the back of the knife?

Asked by: joe27
The replacement blades for the 18968 Utility Knife are item #20237. Please see a link for these blades below. https://www.claussco.com/clauss-utility-knife-blade-for-18968.html
Answered by: Ashanti
Date published: 2020-05-20

I’ve had these scissors for a very long time and they are getting dull. Is there a shop where I would be able to get them sharpened? 

Asked by: Beyondavietsoul
If you are not able to sharpen them yourself, a local knife or hardware shop may be able to sharpen them for you.
Answered by: Ashanti
Date published: 2020-05-19

Will they cut sterling silver thin sheet

Asked by: Hazel
These snips have not been tested on sterling silver. They are designed and tested for floral use.
Answered by: Ashanti
Date published: 2020-05-18

I need the washer for the cutter. I now have three cutters but I have lost one washer. I will gladly pay for one but where???

Asked by: Sandy72
Unfortunately a replacement part is not available for this item.
Answered by: Ashanti
Date published: 2020-05-13

I love these scissors!!! Can they be washed in the dishwasher?

Asked by: Lmnopc
Hand wash is better. Would not recommend a dishwasher.
Answered by: Ashanti
Date published: 2020-05-06

Hi there, I'm looking for the Clauss Ultraflex No. 3528G and this looks to be it but would like confirmation. Is that part number obsolete? I got the number straight off a pair that I currently own and would just like another one or two of the exact same.

Asked by: 2CutAdhesiveHeatshrink
Yes this is the correct replacement.
Answered by: Ashanti
Date published: 2020-05-05

Where are they made? Thank you

Asked by: Rick
They are made in China.
Answered by: Ashanti
Date published: 2020-04-29

Would these be the same as an older pair marked No 3529?

Asked by: Bobo
These are an updated version of No. 3529.
Answered by: Ashanti
Date published: 2020-09-23

can you tell me the blade angle these are sharpened too so I get the correct sharpener? Are the chef and santoku knives sharpened the same?

Asked by: Cook
The Santoku should be 15 degrees. A chef knife can be 17 to 20 degrees.
Answered by: Ashanti
Date published: 2022-11-20

Do you offer a light metal snip with curved blades or offset blades?

Asked by: David D
The CLAUSS 6.5" TITANIUM NON-STICK HYDRO SHORT CURVED SPRING-ASSIST SNIP (18006) have curved blades. They are meant to trim leaves and stems.
Answered by: Ashanti
Date published: 2020-04-03

Can I use these to cut wire?

Asked by: tmarsh1990
No this item is not meant for cutting wire.
Answered by: Ashanti
Date published: 2020-04-01

I have one of your utility knives. Can I fill the cartridges myself?

Asked by: Coach0820
Yes, you can fill the cartridges yourself.
Answered by: Ashanti
Date published: 2022-03-30

Do you have any American made products?

Asked by: Justin
The following items are made in the USA: 10320 - 12" Straight Shear - Heavy Duty, Wallpaper 11330 - 8" Straight Shear - Flat Lower Tip, Paramedic/Bandage 11339 - 8" Bent Shear - Flat Lower Tip, Paramedic/Bandage 23000 - Snip - Light Metal, Curved Blades
Answered by: Ashanti
Date published: 2020-03-31

are the blades bent

Asked by: ticket
The handles are bent and the blades are straight.
Answered by: Ashanti
Date published: 2020-03-30

What is the best process to sharpen the model 15313 Clauss scissors? We use them to cut rubber and they don't hold an edge for very long.

Asked by: Todd
You can use a diamond sharpener to sharpen the blades. However, I'd suggest using the 1100C to cut rubber.
Answered by: Ashanti
Date published: 2020-03-17

I can't seem to get my box cutter to engage the blade. I've tried several ways to slide the blade forward but I can't get it to lock with the blade out.

Asked by: Jon Butcher
The box cutter doesn’t lock the blade. Auto retractable blades are designed to slide back when you release the button. Please email us at [email protected] if the issue persists.
Answered by: Ashanti
Date published: 2020-01-28

Hi Could you explain what Titanium bonded means?! Are these solid titanium, or titanium plated? If titanium plated, what is the underlying metal? I'm trying to assess how corrosion resistant these would be an and around salt water. Thanks.

Asked by: InTheHighlands
Titanium Bonded is not painted or plated, but an application of a unique formulation of titanium and chromium nitride to the surface of cutting blades that actually penetrates and treats the metal to create a permanent bond. The patented Titanium Bonding process provides the following benefits; corrosion resistance, adhesive resistance and the process itself makes the stainless steel 3x harder than untreated stainless providing a blade that stays sharper longer. For more information, see the link below. https://www.claussco.com/technology.html
Answered by: Ashanti
Date published: 2020-01-06

Looking for Shears to work with leather and wondering if you can recommend a few options. Was considering this one.

Asked by: Mikeszajna
We recommend some of our Hot Forged shears (1042006) or one of our muscle shears (10098C) for cutting leather. https://www.claussco.com/clauss-8-straight-trimmer-round-points.html https://www.claussco.com/clauss-7-muscle-shear.html
Answered by: Ashanti
Date published: 2020-01-02

Are these available in orange or red?

Asked by: FlyinBryan
Unfortunately these are not available in any other colors.
Answered by: Ashanti
Date published: 2019-12-23

Can I get these for left handed 

Asked by: Ron D
Unfortunately we do not have this product in left handed scissors. The closest comparable part is 10770. https://www.claussco.com/clauss-10-bent-trimmer-left-handed-adjustable.html
Answered by: Ashanti
Date published: 2020-05-08

I ordered 2 ea. The tips are blunt and have burrs. Do you have any with sharp points? I use them for tying flies and need sharp points.

Asked by: J T em
Please email a picture of your snips to [email protected].
Answered by: Ashanti
Date published: 2019-11-18

Hi. Do these can go to the dishwashers without damaging the scissors or DW (heard of oxidation when some different metal are in contact - your scissor being with some platinum or things like that). Many thanks for your kind help

Asked by: Franckylaquequette
These scissors are not recommended to be cleaned a dish washer. We recommend hand washing when applicable.
Answered by: Ashanti
Date published: 2019-11-09
  • y_2024, m_7, d_17, h_6CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.42
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_120
  • loc_en_US, sid_15300, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_clauss-co
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 48.3ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
Slava Yurthev Copyright